Boards & Commissions

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Planning Commission

The Planning Commission is the principal advisory body to the Board of Supervisors on planning and land use matters and regulations. The Planning Commission operates under By Laws and Rules of Procedures.  Five Planning Commissioners are appointed by the Board of Supervisors by district with two at large members representing forestry and agriculture (District Map of the Planning Commissioners). The Planning Commission generally meets on the third Thursday of each month in the Board of Supervisors Chambers at 501 Low Gap Road, Ukiah, California. 

Mendocino Historical Review Board

The Mendocino Historical Review Board’s primary function is to preserve the architecture and character of the Historic District of the Town of Mendocino. The Review Board’s duties are to review applications for development and to protect the landmark status of buildings ensuring development is compatible with surrounding development. The Mendocino Historical Review Board consists of five members who must be electors and residents within the Historic District. Members of the Review Board are appointed by the Board of Supervisors. The Mendocino Historical Review Board generally meets the first Monday of each month at the Mendocino Community Center on School and Pine Streets in Mendocino.

Archaeological Commission

The Archaeological Commission is primarily responsible for ensuring adequate protection is provided to conserve archaeological sites and the cultural heritage of Mendocino County. The Archaeological Commission consists of five members appointed by the Board of Supervisors. The Archaeological Commission generally meets the second Wednesday of each month in the Planning and Building Services Conference Room, 860 North Bush Street, Ukiah.

Airport Land Use Commission

The Mendocino County Airport Land Use Commission’s primary responsibility is formulation and adoption of a comprehensive land use plan that provides for the orderly growth and protection of the public health, safety and welfare within the planning area of each public use airport within the County of Mendocino. The Commission consists of three County Planning Commissioners appointed by the Board of Supervisors, three members appointed by the City Selection Committee and one at-large member appointed by the Airport Land Use Commission. Two members of the Commission must have aviation expertise. The Airport Land Use Commission meets on an "as needed" basis.

Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Download Acrobat Reader Flash Player Download Flash Player Windows Media Player Download Windows Media Player Microsoft Silverlight Download Microsoft Silverlight Word Viewer Download Word Viewer Excel Viewer Download Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer Download PowerPoint Viewer